album reviews
concert photos
release dates
 Sewing Machines on WHFR, Wednesday, August 8, 9PM 

Mos Def, Norah Jones, and more RAISE Hope for Congo

There are situations all over the world that get quite depressing. The current crisis in Congo devastates women in country, causing them to be the target of violence and rape in a war torn area fed by demands for minerals used to produce things like computers and iPods. The Enough Project and Mercer Street Records have teamed with curator Nic Harcourt and artists like Mos Def, Norah Jones, Bat for Lashes, and more to help raise money and awareness of the crisis. RAISE Hope for Congo arrived digitally yesterday, and gets a physical release date on June 22. Full track list is after the jump.

RAISE Hope for Congo track list:
1. Lonely Soldier – Damien Rice
2. Not Immune – Imaad Wasif
3. Angel Mom – Jesca Hoop
4. 40 – Meshell Ndegeocello
5. Je t’aime – Staff Benda Bilili
6. Leila – Angelique Kidjo
7. Na Miso – Chantal Kreviazuk
8. World of Trouble – Norah Jones
9. My Name is Mwamaroyi – Sheryl Crow
10. Don’t Let Me – Amel Larrieux
11. Raise Hope – Om├ękongo Dibinga & Shahin Shahida
12. Never Again – Ozomatli & The Agahoza Shalom Youth Village
13. Sleep Alone – Bat For Lashes
14. Before You Were Young (Live at Joe’s Pub) – Travis
15. Hora Zero (Live at Wecheter) – Rodrigo y Gabriela
16. Tambara – Amadou & Mariam
17. Nsimba & Nzuzi – Konono No 1
18. Priority (A Cappella) – Mos Def

No comments: